Upgrading/downgrading your Basic or Premium subscription


In this article

Overview

You can change your plan between Basic and Premium at any time from your account page.

When you upgrade plans, you are immediately charged the difference between the two plans.

Changing your plan doesn't change your billing date  — you're only charged for the remaining days of your current subscription.

Similarly, if you downgrade plans, a credit will be applied to your account towards future charges, and your subscription date will not change.

Upgrading from Basic to Premium - an example

If you subscribed to Basic monthly on May 10th, you will:

1
Immediately be charged for a full month of Basic access, and
2
Your next billing date will be set to June 10th.

If you then upgrade from Basic monthly to Premium monthly on May 31st, we will:

1
Cancel your Basic account.
2
Credit you an amount equivalent to the value of the remaining days left on your Basic Plan.
3
Apply this credit towards the time remaining on the Premium plan. If we do the math, we know that there's about 10 days left until the subscription renewal date. This means that we credit you $29/30 x 10 = $9.67 and apply that towards the remaining time left on the Premium plan you're upgrading to $49/30 x 10 = $16.33. That means, the total you'd spend for the upgrade would be $16.33 - $9.67 = $6.66.
4
Your Premium plan will renew at the full cost on the next billing date, June 10th.

Downgrading from Premium to Basic - an example 

If you subscribed to Premium monthly on May 10th - you will:

1
Immediately be charged for a full month of Premium access, and
2
Your next billing date will be set to June 10th.

If you then downgrade from Premium monthly to Basic monthly on June 5th - we will:

1
Cancel your Premium plan.
2
Credit you an amount equivalent to the value of remaining time left on your Premium plan at the time of the upgrade.
3
Apply that credit to your Basic subscription renewal on June 10th.
⚠️IMPORTANT: The same process applies to yearly plans as well — think twice about downgrading to the Basic plan as we will apply the difference to your account as credits, and not as a refund.

Changing between Monthly and Yearly plans.

You have the ability to switch between monthly and yearly plans as well.

Switching from Monthly to Yearly

For example, if you subscribe to the monthly plan on May 10th, you'll be charged for a month and receive access until June 10th.

If you upgrade from monthly to yearly on May 20th, you will:

1
Receive credit for the unused days in your previous subscription (~20 days).
2
You will then be charged for the cost of the yearly plan minus your credit

Switching from Yearly to Monthly

If you subscribe to the yearly plan on May 10th, you'll immediately be charged for a year and receive access until May 10th of the following year.

If you downgrade from yearly to monthly on July 10th, you will:

1
Receive credit for the unused months in your current subscription (~10 months).
2
The cost of your new month will be removed from the credit on your account.
3
Any remaining credit will be held and applied against future charges.
IMPORTANT: Again, think twice about switching from a yearly plan to a monthly plan, as the difference will be applied to your account as credits to be applied on future payments, NOT as a refund.
Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.